Does Outsourcing Open or Close Doors?

Many of my colleagues across the U.S. in a variety of corporations have lost their jobs when their employer “outsourced” or “right-sourced” Information Technology jobs. It is difficult to lose a job to which you have had connections, some sense of ownership, and – moreover – a steady paycheck. It is also difficult to be the employee left behind who keeps your job, but has lost colleagues and is suddenly confronted with a new way to get the work done. Bitternes can be rampant. Morale takes a nosedive. It is possibly the single greatest career challenge. For me, it has also been the greatest learning opportunity.

Outsourcing services challenged me personally and professionally. There were keen benefits to the corporation to outsource our work. There were extreme losses in knowledge and skill. But the drastic loss, forced me and my colleagues who remained in the organization to step up as leaders. An oft quoted axiom is “If you always do what you always did, you’ll always get what you always got.” Outsourcing forced change. It’s not always good to force change. Over the next few weeks, I will share my experiences with this type of change. I welcome your feedback. I welcome your expeirences. In the meantime – Happy Friday!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

